Boys and Bugs

It would take me a long long while to list the myriad reasons for being grateful (truly) for having boys turned men in the house. But the main thing is the bugs!!!! They are the in-house bug exterminators. 🙂 Delhi-NCR has many cockroaches, mosquitoes, flies, crickets and what nots. Having two dogs means that the door is always open – wish they could be trained to shut the door after they came in. But it does offer opportunities for the boys to be amused all the time. Yeah, there is just something hilarious about hearing a grown woman shriek like a two-year-old at the sight of a bug. I kid you not, I am a lapsed Jain …. That means I can’t kill the darn things even though I might officiate in the proceedings. My D.I.L. aka daughter in law will not even do that – and she is no Jain lapsed or otherwise!!!!!

The scenario is something like this :

<!–[if !supportLists]–>1. <!–[endif]–>I scream like as though I was being assaulted by an E.T.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>2. <!–[endif]–>Sons hear me over their TVs blaring the latest metal or rock assault on ear drums and try to evaluate the level of danger (based on the pitch and the level of commitment behind the scream) and decide that Mom has had the coronary that she has been promising all these years.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>3. <!–[endif]–> They run to investigate.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>4. <!–[endif]–>They find me looking at the darn bug in anger, I raise my eyes and say like a bloodthirsty warrior squaw “Kill it, kill the darn thing”

<!–[if !supportLists]–>5. <!–[endif]–>The D.I.L. flees at this point.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>6. <!–[endif]–>The boys laugh at me. Oh and then they squish the darn thing with my slipper, while I try desperately not to puke.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>7. <!–[endif]–>I squeal in protest.

<!–[if !supportLists]–>8. <!–[endif]–>They laugh again at the sight of a grown woman who can scare the entire world with the force of her bullying tactics reduced to a bimbette at the sight of a tiny bug.

I mean, I am not scared of bugs. They would be fine by me, if I could show them the door and they would scoot into the big whole world outside. I don’t like killing them (its messy and disgusting) and they don’t understand spoken language or sign language. So I just settle for screaming in the vain hope that I could startle them to death.

4 thoughts on “Boys and Bugs

  1. my heartfelt sympathy.. and empathy… i know exactly how horrifying it is to have those tiny bugs assault u…and i dont even have brave hunks around to annihilate those disgusting creatures…sigh!

  2. It’s the squishy stuff that oozes out of them critters that totally grosses me out! I spray, sweep off, never squash ’em, though.
    I used to scream too, but have grown up a wee bit:)

  3. LOL!
    guesswhat Ritu, I’m the official exterminator around our house!!
    working on your blog design.. just browsing around your archives to get to know you better..

    Hi Mahjabeen, welcome. Looking forward to my blog design – OMG that makes me a netizen with my own property on the internet!!!! Impressive

Leave a Reply

