What is your get-rich plan?

I got this email in the morning which started me thinking.  May be you have recieved it too – but its worth repeating here:-

A business executive was deep in debt and could see no way out. Creditors were closing in on him. Suppliers were demanding payment. He sat on the park bench, head in hands, wondering if anything could save his company from bankruptcy.Suddenly an old man appeared before him.
“I can see that something is troubling you,” he said.
After listening to the executive’s woes, the old man said, “I believe I can help you.”
He asked the man his name, wrote out a check, and pushed it into his hand saying,
“Take this money. Meet me here exactly one year from today, and you can pay me back at that time.”
Then he turned and disappeared as quickly as he had come.
The business executive saw in his hand a check for $500,000, signed by John D. Rockefeller, then one of the richest men in the world!

“I can erase my money worries in an instant!” he realized. But instead, the executive decided to put the uncashed check in his safe. Just knowing it was there might give him the strength to work out a way to save his business, he thought.
With renewed optimism, he negotiated better deals and extended terms of payment. He closed several big sales. Within a few months, he was out of debt and making money once again.
Exactly one year later, he returned to the park with the uncashed check. At the agreed-upon time, the old man appeared. But just as the executive was about to hand back the check and share his success story, a nurse came running up and grabbed the old man.
“I’m so glad I caught him!” she cried. “I hope he hasn’t been bothering you. He’s always escaping from the rest home and telling people he’s John D. Rockefeller.”
And she led the old man away by the arm.
The astonished executive just stood there, stunned. All year long he’d been wheeling and dealing, buying and selling, convinced he had half a million dollars behind him.
Suddenly, he realized that it wasn’t the money, real or imagined, that had turned his life around. It was his newfound self-confidence that gave him the power to achieve anything he went after.

When my marriage broke up – I had no home, two children aged 10 and 2 respectively.  And I had no savings.  I just had a job as a very junior executive with a salary that barely made ends meet.  No friends either –  when marriages break up, friendships also do.  My mother had issues – since she never approved of me or the divorce.  What I had going for me was that my boys thought I was Goddess, and I couldn’t let them down.  I thanked heavens that my father had insisted that I complete my education.  So bolstered by the faith of my sons and my degrees, I picked my arse from the pits, fixed a smile on my face and started rebuilding my life.  I had no time to moan “Poor misunderstood me” which is such a blessing.  I have no patience for the Main Bechari types.  It has been a long journey, where, as they said in the old bollywood trailers : Isme action hai, thrill hai, romance hai, tragedy hai, laughter hai.  Battles have been fiercely fought, some have been lost, some won.  All said and done, its been a rich life, absolutely worth living.

I am a strong believer in positivity.  Good things attract good things.  Rich things attract rich things.  Like the Kabir doha “Maya Ko Maya Miley, Kar Kar Lambe haath”.  When broke, I have put monopoly money in my wallet.  Does wonders to your morale.  Hmmm, no, dont call the lunatic asylum – I am just borderline crazy, and harmless – swear.                😀

My true wealth is the love and faith of my children, and of course my wonky sense of humour.  As long as I have these with me, Duniya Meri Mutthi Mein Hai and I can give Rockefeller a run for his money.  That has been my get-rich plan.  What is yours?

12 thoughts on “What is your get-rich plan?

  1. my plan is to read more of ur motivating posts 🙂 .. m still smiling from the monopoly money thingie! seriously, i dono wat u meant by borderline crazy, i am actually borderline and i get demotivated to live life to damn easily..now i kno a way out 😛

    By borderline I mean I’m dumb so I dont know when I am well and truly beat – so I keep on fighting, and ultimately win because others just give up. By dumb I also mean that I dont understand games that people play – so get by without complicating my life

  2. I just love the way you think… who wants money when they have an attitude like you do? 😉

    Thing is that most battles are fought in the mind – which is so aptly described in that story. We aren’t beat until we start believing so

  3. I love your confidence. You remind me of one of my friends’ moms. SO independent, so positive and you wouldnt know she has gone through so much adversity when you look at her. She was the coolest mom around!

    Most of my friends have actually started of as friends of my children …. so I guess that is true of me too

  4. Hi! Discovered your blog through a common blog pal. I so admire and laud your positive attitude – and you are so right – love of those who matter is all the wealth one needs to be happy – and I, too, am rich that way! 🙂

    Thank you Mystic Margarita – very poetic name BTW

  5. hey…super duper!!!saw ur blog on merci’s blog roll…thats a great attitude you have…Its one thing to say it…its another to actually be through the doldrums and live thru it..
    Am also border line crazy…sometimes i even cross the border line…but somehow i realise that and pack up to get back to the other side of the border…may be ur blog will also help…
    keep writing!!!

    Thank you Nivedita, and thanks for visiting

  6. I could but then I would loose out on the book deals or the publicity! Plus alimony means half or something… I’m greedy! I want it all… muhuhahaha 😀

    Advitiya-The black widow strikes again!

    😀 I like you

  7. I happened to be reading about the six types of wealth and money was not one of them.

    I guess that makes all those, who have understood this, very wealthy.

    Great attitude, I must say. Keep it up.

    Actually wealth is not currency – its abundance, and people who have understood it are winners I guess

  8. How did I miss this beautiful post!!!!
    Love your attitude. it’s so true that we are what we think. It must have been so frightening, I tried imagining myself in that situation,and although I am quite sure I would have taken the same decisions, I know I would have been terrified inside. You are awesome.

    Thank you IHM, I just luuuuuuuurve compliments and you really made my day — evening.
    I mean that sincerely. And yes, we are what we think – and you know the funny thing? Most people dont think they are rock stars – they think they are losers. Its tragic

Leave a Reply

