A Smoker’s Tale

Every one has a story … of how they got caught by parents, by siblings or teachers ……

I wrote a poem about one such tale – with a very Ritu-esque twist

THE SMOKER’S TALE

Every one has a smoker’s story

In this poem I’ll tell you mine

Of facing the deadly parental fury

When caught committing this crime

Oh joy!  Papa caught me with a cigarette in my hand

And slapped my younger brother!  It was grand!

It happened many years ago

When I was young, just thirteen

I took to smoking to look macho

It was fun, I would strut and preen

Oh joy! Papa caught me with a cigarette in my hand

And slapped my younger brother, it was grand!

With friends I was strutting near the mall

Smoking, eyeing girls, having a ball

Papa was standing there with his colleague

He glared, and stunned, I stared, oh it was crazy

Oh joy! Papa caught me with a cigarette in my hand

And slapped my younger brother, it was grand!

In an effort to vanish without a trace

I blew a smokescreen – into his face

He turned and walked away in a fume

And I mourned my upcoming doom

Oh joy! Papa caught me with a cigarette in my hand

And slapped my younger brother, it was grand!

That night I sat shamefaced, Papa, he raved

Mom wept, my pesky brother – he laughed

Furiously, Papa turned and slapped him

Yelling, “He’s a loser, don’t you dare join him!”

Oh joy! Papa caught me with a cigarette in my hand

And slapped my younger brother, it was grand!

Read the rest here :  The Smoking Book

20 thoughts on “A Smoker’s Tale

  1. My mom rarely would raise her hand and had almost stopped since i reached 5th standard. I started smoking in 10th, however i was caught in college, when my Ma smelt something and asked me if I smoked ?

    I thought this was the chance, lets be honest and tell her, maybe I’ll be allowed to smoke in the house…

    I said “Yes I …” before I could say do I was slapped… and hard !!!!

    sob sob !!

    *Handing you a tissue* I feel for you my dear!

  2. Good one!

    Now we wait 1-2 years and you shall be a published poet!

    Congratulations!

    LOL, my brand of poetry is not arty, aathira, its just fun with rhyme. Am better with prose

  3. wow! u have ur short stories published in CBSE- XII.. no wonder though… which language btw? pls share the link if you have any of them available online.. Thanks 🙂 all the best for this entry.

    English! Have put them somewhere on the blog, will put up links tommorow

  4. And again it said more than it said. Loved it.

    What ? Your short stories are part of the CBSE syllabus? You never told us!! Congrats 🙂
    We also want to read!

    Awww blush blush! I did put them up earlier ……

  5. Funny:D
    and then went and read the other part:)
    it said so much

    and CBSE syllabus??

    *goggles*
    what??
    we want links
    😀
    awesome a writer,a published one:D

  6. Hahahaha! Good one! 🙂

    I got caught when I’d quit smoking! Sis had hidden her box in my desk and I got blamed! I was fuming! But didn’t say anything! A lifetime’s supply of chocolate was at stake! 🙂

Leave a Reply

