Love and Stuff

Monika tagged me to write about my Amar Prem, my long lasting love story about myself, and I do love to be centre-stage :P, so this tag is something I will totally enjoy doing.

I think self love is the best thing since sliced bread. Our elders were brought up on a totally irritating brand of pseudo humility which made me get apoplectic with rage!

Does any one remember phrases like “Mere garibkhane mein aayey please”?, or the translated “Welcome to my humble abode”. So absolutely fake!

Then we were preached at for “Simple Living and High Thinking”. The sermons were all geared at telling us that this world is an illusion, we were supposed to deny ourselves any thing good and fun so that we attained a higher level of rewards. Funny how similar that sounds to the poor misguided Jihadis who are promised I dont know how many virgins in Jannat, if they manage to kill others and themselves!!!

I mean I am all for being level headed, but groveling is not good either for the soul or the knees. Self Love is all about being kind to yourself, forgiving yourself and being friends with yourself. Self love is all about the Loreal ad “Because I am worth it”. πŸ˜€

The added advantage is that you get your prize right here and right now! Why wait till we die anyway. May be I am born a parrot the next life, then that awesome pair of diamond earrings wont be what I want anyway!

I love me “Because I am worth it!”, I am moody, can go from angel to bitch in 0.005 seconds flat. So what?!!, So I am a flawed human being, but I stand up for me and mine, protect and nurture who I think are mine, and I belong to me so I love me πŸ˜›

I dig my sense of humor. I can find the ridiculous in the most grim,insane and even tragic situations. It has led to many uncomfortable moments with me hiding in the loo to overcome fits of giggles (I am giggly) but it makes me a happy soul

I am fiercely independent and I respect that in me and in others if I see a similar spark. It makes me want to do more, achieve a lot in life.

I love eating my own cooking. Saves a lot of money but adds to work {groan}

I respect my outspoken nature. I totally despise hypocrisy and value honest opinions, and I think it makes me a better human being – even though it gets me into humongous amounts of trouble.

Sigh …. done the five points, but there are soo many other things I appreciate about me …..

Walks off reciting this poem by Elizabeth Barrett Browning (its my favorite love poem)

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of everyday’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love thee with a passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints, — I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! — and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

13 thoughts on “Love and Stuff

  1. well, that’s the truth, right? Everybody loves themselves, but most deny it.

    Freya, that’s the problem, people do not think they are worth it and deny themselves fulfillment and happiness

  2. Ritu, love your forth right attitude including this post.

    would love to meet someday…since we are both in delhi am hoping we can make it happen…i.e. of course if you would like to.

    Of course I would. Lets set it up when the weather is somewhat tolerable ….

    πŸ™‚

    P.S: love urself wholeheartedly u are completely worth it.

    Thanks and you too
    πŸ˜€

  3. Great response to the tag! I love the way you have called on the hypocrisy of our traditional self-denial.

    “The added advantage is that you get your prize right here and right now! Why wait till we die anyway” Loved it. Loved it. Loved it. πŸ™‚

    Thanks, I loved your blog, its funny and refreshing

  4. Are you sure we’re not related? I could see a lot of myself in there…

    Independence
    Cooking
    Giggly fits…(My boss once had his fly open and I had to run away before I burst out)
    And I justify every time I splurge on books with the reasoning, “One life… gotta live to the fullest”

    We are Advitiya, just got separated at the Kumbh Ka Mela
    πŸ˜†

  5. Self-love ought to be the most honest love.
    Lovely poem :).

    It is, it is, and glad you liked the poem, just replace the “thee’ with “me” and you got the perfect version

  6. Oh I do agree ..there is nothing like loving oneself.whenever I pass a mirror I take a peek and blow myself a kiss coz I am worth it .. loved it ..muwah

    Total Amar Prem, hai na?

  7. You know the funniest part about a lot of human brains:

    If they err; they’re human brains enough. If somebody else’s brain errs; these brains are smart enuff to point out.

    Amazing. Liked it. Meets the conventional brainset.

    Thank you Freakonomy

Leave a Reply

