Talking Long Distance ……

Actually not long distance as far as distance went. Kid#1 was comfortably esconced on the sofa with his feet on the centre table. DIL was lying down Diva-like on the couch

Kid#2 and Moi were sitting on the other sofa, he was trying to read Tehelka with me trying to read what he was reading ……

DIL : Babe did you call the window wala

Kid#1: No I did not

DIL: (The voice was freezing here) You know the bathroom window has been broken for the last two weeks. Why did you not do it?

Kid#1: Voice rising in defense: I told you I am busy …..

Me: Abandoning the Tehelka and looking at them. This Tehelka was better than Mayawati

Kid#2: Stuffing nose deeper in Tehelka since he is not yet out of the dog house for what he did to the Xing.

Silence for something like 2 whole minutes ……….. Angry looks being exchanged

…… Yummy ………..

DIL: Kid#2 ask your incompetent brother to give me MY almairah keys. I forgot my set at office today

Kid#2 : Doing a good imitation of a deaf mute

Kid#1: Kid#2 tell your arrogant sister in law that I will not give her the keys to MY almairah. She can go to office and get hers

Kid#2: You both can hear each other, leave me out of this

DIL : Mom tell that jackassy son of yours

Me : Picking up a pillow and hiding behind it : Leave me out of it. I dont participate in spousal fights. I only watch them for entertainment.

Both of them: Oh you are hopeless

They look at each other and start laughing. She gets the key bunch and he promises to get a glass man for the window

Both Kid#2 and I look at them shocked. Whaddumean? Was that all???? We want more entertainment

Shucks!!!

20 thoughts on “Talking Long Distance ……

  1. so you enjoyed being mean audience.. so unfair!!!

    Like I keep telling my poor kids, they are here for my entertainment. Otherwise no point being a parent. πŸ˜›

  2. hahaha.
    loved the fight.
    loved the end even more.
    comeon, that’s the way all fights should end, dont you think?
    ya, but we wont mind some more masala..

    No gaalis? No band baaja? This was a damp squib! I wanted more too

  3. jeez, you have one interesting family :)touchwood….loved the fight and if every fight ends like that, then it’s superb πŸ™‚

    I wanted it a tad more spicy tho ….

  4. This is my first time I’m here
    and getting addicted is my fear
    your writing surely does endear
    this is from my heart and sincere.

    Will come back for the ‘archives’

    I promise you fun filled entertainment! πŸ˜›

  5. this is beautiful! I wish all families would end fights likes this!!

    They either end like this, or they end in tantrums and tears, … with us ordering comfort food like cheezy pizzas for dinner. Nothing like lots of cheese and maida, washed down with alcohol after a family blast out

  6. ROFL!!

    *chants of we want more* go up! πŸ˜€
    more more! πŸ˜€
    hee!! this is darn interesting!

    Yeah, I was gearing up for a test match and this turned out to be 20-20

  7. Lolz… I remember my Mom-Dad doing such things when they had arguments. They will ask me or bro to convey messages even while sitting in the same room. Not understanding the situation we used to enjoy playing messengers and will give up when tired :P.

    Kid#2 and I dont. We keep score though, and DIL always wins!

  8. Bang on! Nothing can match a Miyan-Biwi fight!! LOL, at your entertaining narration, Ritu. Enjoyed reading this :-)))

    Yeah Miyan Biwi fights are classic and fun! They accuse me of enjoying them too much though……..

  9. Hahahahahahahahaha! πŸ˜†
    That was too good. πŸ˜€
    BUT we want more. πŸ˜‰

    BUT joke apart, that’s how ALL arguments SHOULD end. πŸ™‚

    True

Leave a Reply

