The Slimming Industry has us to reckon with heh!

It is apparent that all women beyond a certain age have had enough of the bullying done by fitness centres, slimming industry and other people who want to do us great harm by making simple eating and drinking feel like sinning. Just read the story below …..

Recently, in a large French city, a poster featuring a young, thin, tanned woman appeared in the window of a gym:
“THIS SUMMER DO YOU WANT TO BE A MERMAID OR A WHALE?”

A middle aged woman, whose physical characteristics did not match those of the woman on the poster, responded publicly to the question posed by the gym.

To Whom It May Concern:

Whales are always surrounded by friends (dolphins, sea lions, curious humans). They have an active sex life, they get pregnant and have adorable baby whales. They have a wonderful time with dolphins, stuffing themselves with shrimp. They play and swim in the seas, seeing wonderful places like Patagonia, the Barren Sea and the coral reefs of Polynesia. Whales are wonderful singers and have even recorded CDs. They are incredible creatures and virtually have no predators other than humans. They are loved, protected and admired by almost everyone in the world.

Mermaids don’t exist. If they did exist, they would be lining up outside the offices of Argentinean psychoanalysts due to identity crisis. Fish or human? They don’t have a sex life because they kill men who get close to them, not to mention, how could they have sex?? Therefore they do not have kids either. Not to mention who wants to get close to a girl who smells like a fish store??

The choice is perfectly clear to me; I want to be a whale.

P.S. We are in an age when media puts into our heads the idea that only skinny people are beautiful, but I prefer to enjoy an ice-cream with my kids, a good dinner with a man who loves me, and a coffee with my friends. With time we gain weight because we accumulate so much information and wisdom in our heads that when there is no more room it distributes out to the rest of our bodies. So we aren’t heavy, we are enormously cultured, educated and happy. Beginning today, when I look at my butt in the mirror I will think:

“Good gosh, look how smart I am.”

I love her already!

22 thoughts on “The Slimming Industry has us to reckon with heh!

  1. hahahah, i love this…but tell me, does size of a woman reallly matter that much!!!
    I am the skinny variety and have been a subject of rebuke and taunt by a lot of people and it really hurts me. Comments on my child bearing capability, comments on how unhealthy i am (believe me am not), comments on how a woman needs to be well endowed. Why is it everyones fav passtime? From media to neighbours, to relatives…everyone? 🙂
    By the way, I completely agree about mermaids they really don’t exist..

    I think the size of the woman matters to the fashion and slimming industry, just as the cosmetic industry thrives on making even the loveliest one feel ugly! The bitch of it all is that we fall for this.

  2. We can always have a whale of a time,
    doubt if we ever had mermaid of a time.
    It is a crime to lose out on your prime
    surviving with salads seasoned with thyme.

    LOL thyme salad Blech! Gimme pesto seasoning any day

  3. Agree..I would love her too!! It’s like glass half-filled philosophy where you need to look at brighter side of things ALWAYS!

    btw..where do you find such wonderful mood-lifting reality!!

    Like I said earlier … its an art

  4. its not about looking like a mermaid…not all women have 2-3hrs a day to give towards workouts. but it is about feeling good about urself, ur body but even more importantly…its about being healthy, medically. I dont think the woman was smart…i think she took the easy way out. its not easy to be healthy. and thats all its about really…eat healthy, keep ur heart fit and strong. lookin like a whale is not the answer. whales live long lives…human whales do not.
    it was funny though…this is just my opinion.

    Coffee Angel, you are either very young or very fit. Most of us arent, so for us this response rocks!

  5. Oh… I love you for sharing this!

    And I hope she wrote her answer across the stupid Ad itself! The media have done enough damage to so many women and young girls making them believe they look terrible!

  6. I’ve been reading (and re-reading) your archives from past 2weeks since I’ve found the link to your blog!

    However, found an interesting article and decided to search for it. Unfortunately, there’s no ‘search the blog’ feature 😦 Could you please add it or let me know if I’ve missed it!
    Thanks!

  7. Even i get conscious at times about putting on weight…for looks as well as for good health… of course not trying to be zero figure… but i don’t want to throw away those cute tops ;D
    But I totally agree with her…. when stop enjoying life, worrying about weight…its just not worth it.

  8. Hmnnn, sad state of affairs, I say.

    Where have those days gone when we stayed firm on the belief that “all the world’s a stage” and everything was about outward appearances alone? I miss the good old days when we were proportionate in body structure out of choice. Now I am forced to read books titled “In Defence of Food” so as to understand the stance of the disproportionate, failing which I am accused of discrimination.

    Very, very sad state of affairs indeed. We must discuss this in a lot more detail over some icecream and chocolate, Ritu.

    You’re on! Make it coffee, icecream and chocolate!

  9. 😆
    I read this at another friend’s place too and cracked up 😀
    love this lady’s wisdom too 😀

    lemme love meself a lil more in the mirror 😉

    Me too! A lot of me to love

Leave a Reply

