Gender Stereotypes : IHM’s tag

IHM comes out with the most interesting tags.  Here is what she says on her blog

Have you ever wanted something that is considered ‘manly’ ? Like a basketball, a cell phone, a dog, a camera or a new laptop? A new car or motor bike? Ever wanted to be a pilot? A doctor or not a nurse? And the manliest want of them all – The remote! ;)

As a kid did you enjoy playing with a bat and a ball?

There was a time when books were considered ‘manly’, women authors had to pretend to be men – would you say books are still rather manly – women should want to embroider and crochet?

She has a similar question for men.  Hop across and read the blogpost.

I must admit that I am guilty of doing a lot more than this, so it follows that I have more XY than XX chromosomes I guess.  So here are my politically incorrect choices that I revel in

1. I love motorcycles.  There was a time when I owned one, and used to service it myself.

2. I can change a flat tyre by myself.  Blame my Dad for it.  He felt that a person who wants to drive should know how to change a flat tyre and taught me how to do it.

3. I change fused bulbs myself at home, I am aware that people feel its a man’s job, but dont agree with that thinking.

4. I can fly kites, play gilli danda and am a marbles champ (at least I was once upon a time 😉 heh!)

5. X rated jokes amuse me, they dont shock me at all.  I guess I am besharm that way.

6. I dont wear make up unless I have to.

7. I love technology … cellphones, gizmos, even those sensor lights fascinate me.

8. I love dogs, they are the best of God’s creatures

9. I dont wear jewellery unless I have to

10. Women’s magazines bore me, they have too many skinny models and too much jewellery and make up.  Plus they are so marriage centric.

Now I have to tag people

Monika

Ramit

Nethra

Vibhuti

Deepak

Tikuli

Meghana

Manna

Bikram

Advitiya

Shilpa Garg

Pins and Ashes

Deepti Raman

43 thoughts on “Gender Stereotypes : IHM’s tag

  1. Wow you can change a flat tyre, I know the theory but I have no idea how I’d cope if I have to… and I am super-impressed, errr I mean scandalised 😳 that you actually can ride a motor bike!!!

    I enjoy xrated jokes to, even more to horrify those who don’t 😉
    Proud of you Marble Champ!!! And Gilli Danda and kites!!

    Ritu you are a certified-sinner now 😆

    • I was a reluctant learner … but did not get driving lessons unless I first learnt how to ~ and Papa would not allow me a mo-bike(my first vehicle) either. So I learnt

  2. “I must admit that I am guilty of doing a lot more than this, so it follows that I have more XY than XX chromosomes I guess”LOL, Ritu..you are toh too good!! Oh yes I’m a big time sinner too 😀 Will pick this tag up for sure. Will ping you & IHM back when I’m done 🙂

    Its funny how people think changing fused bulbs, replacing gas cylinders and stuff are considered a man’s area of expertise! THis gender stereotyping is horrendously annoying!

    Enjoyed the tag thoroughly 🙂

    • Completely annoying. People don’t like it that my son and I cook together most of the time while my daughter in law doesnt, even though she is so feminine otherwise. Its a question of what you like to do ~ not what is forced on you by gender stereotypes.

  3. Flat tyres… ride and service a bike…very very impressive! 🙂
    Kites…gilli-danda…marbles… simply wow!!
    A very intersting Tag!!
    Thanks for tagging…will take it up!! 🙂

  4. I read IHM’s blog and came straight here knowing you would have tagged me 😀
    Impressive list .Would love to go on a bike ride with you :p
    will do the tag right now even if my back hurts like hell later .
    Thanks for considering me Ritu my love.;)

  5. WOW !! I am impressed – you can change flat tyres !!! And ride a motorcycle too !!! Ritu, tujhe salaam !!!

    And those X-rated jokes – My God !! Why didnt I think of writing abt that – I’ve scandalised many a frnds of mine !!!

    Absolutely loved this and as IHM has put, you are a sinner !!! LOL !!! 🙂

  6. LOL, Ritu !! More of XY than XX eh haa haa 🙂
    What a list 😛 :P…
    Flat tyres and bike rides… 😀 😀
    I would love to wear my blue pants for a lifetime, I’ll take this up soon 🙂 🙂

  7. What a list Ritu! Changing flat tyre yourself! I know just a couple of ladies who ride motorcycles. And wow, you belong to a rare group.
    I hate woman’s magazines for their content.

    • Flat tyre was first requirement as per my father, so I did it. I wanted a bike and Papa was not very sure ~ ~ hence the rule. Then servicing it came so naturally to me. Women’s mags are boring, they only feed on insecurities

  8. LOL!!
    I’m so enjoying this tag! IHM has come up with something really brilliant! 😀

    I loved your list! change a tyre! wow! I so wanna learn how to… And I’m going to! 🙂
    And yea, I had a huge collection of marbles too!! 😀 Was the undisputed champion in our colony!!! 😉

  9. he hehehe I AM BEING TAGGED LEFT rigt and centre… 🙂 and what a list … Very well done i am glad you can change the tyres how many times I have had to spoil my shirt baba… wish they took training from you …

    Will take it up for sure 🙂 I will have to spend a week on tags .. inteikhata ho gaye hain… BPL ne time waste bahut kiya hai he he hhe missing on the fun stuff i love tags 🙂

  10. Okay you definitely sound like my mom. She was and is a tomboy to the core. She could climb trees, swim like an otter, play gili danda and kabaddi and beat the men at it. She is the one who changes the fused bulbs, makes the taps work if they get stuck and so on and so forth.
    I could never ever be like you or her. 😦
    Did the tag myself.

  11. Even you had tagged me. Checked it just now. From now onwards will be regular on this space.
    By the way, even I used to play gili danda and play it even now. Can you imagine a 23yrs old playing it. I guess you can.:P
    I too love dogs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

