Colour Me Brown with Wella Kolestint

I am not a high maintenance person. I have undergone waxing twice in my life, once on my marriage and once when my son got married. DIL bullied me into accompanying her to the parlour and getting arms and legs waxed. And I don’t get facials done. Parlours bore me to death. The idea of sitting somewhere for two or more hours does not appeal to me, even if I am getting something done to improve my appearance. I get the classic student-in-class syndrome. As a kid, I stared longingly out of the window during class, now I start thinking about all that I can do once the ordeal is over and I can escape the beautician’s parlour.

But then age has caught up with me. I need to colour my hair. Of course sitting with colour slathered on my head for an hour scared me so jugaad came into play. I started getting a pedicure or a manicure done while I waited for the girl to wash off the colour. I suspect that all my hair (whatever is left of it) is white under that colour.

When I signed up for the Wella Kolestint Hair Colour, I had this awesome role model in mind

Just look at that gorgeous mane. No wonder she made not one but two successful comebacks into movies and now I read that she is brand ambassador of Wella Kolestint. This lady is about my age but damn, she rocks! She looks well kept and wonderful.

Here is another diva with gorgeous hair

The great thing about Wella Kolestint is that the colours they offer suit the Indian skin. I chose dark brown for the conventional look and golden brown for those times when I feel adventurous. Of course as it happens at my home, Kid#1 and DIL both wanted to try it too. Kid#1 was keen on the golden brown, but ladies first, I insisted. Hence dark brown was the first one opened.

The box contains: A pre-color Treatment with Almond Extract, After Color Intense Shine Treatment/Conditioner, 1 pair of gloves, 1 tube of colour Creme, 1 bottle of Creme Developer, Instruction leaflet. I have a very light hair growth … hence I never got waxed. In fact I often joke that I am surprised I have eyebrows and eyelashes given the lack of hair! One box was more than enough for me, with a bit to spare for either Kid#1 or DIL to experiment with.

Well, did it give me a gorgeous lustrous mane like the divas above or the lady below?

NADA. But then this is a colour product, not a growth solution, eh?

On second thoughts, I don’t want hair like Rapunzel’s, her shampoo and colour bills must be astronomical!

VERDICT

My hair are softer, fall in manageable waves and they shine. The brown is soothing and, more importantly, the product hides the greys well. I am sold on the conditioner that is provided. I never knew that my hair could feel so soft.

18 thoughts on “Colour Me Brown with Wella Kolestint

  1. Lol, that is one splendid ode to short hair and coloring. I am one of those lazy people who cannot be bothered too much and so opt for the simplest of things in life. So when hair-cut time is near that is exactly what I tell the stylist. Thankfully, I don’t even need a comb for my hair, just fingers run through it would do (how lucky can you get!).
    Coloring is as yet far away! What with my laziness to follow any regime, I might end up keeping my hair grey! πŸ™‚

  2. I have been the same for many years now, I find the idea of facials and waxing etc a torture. This brown looks nice, and if one can make the task of self-beautification fun,nothing like it.

    • I could never stand spending the whole day at a parlour. DIL pushed / dragged me for a hair spa. When they said it takes roughly 4 hours, I fled!

      The dark brown is pleasing

  3. Did u, by any chance, receive a product to be reviewed by Blogadda ???? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    LOL, it certainly reads like one… πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    I too like the way Dimple looks and the way she has grown old – so gracefully….

  4. Wow, this one looks like a brand worth giving a try. Oh and I love Dimple Kapadia’s hair too! Always loved since her ‘Sagar come-back’ πŸ™‚

  5. does it come for MEN too.. I might need in a few years time , though thankfully I dont have any white hair on my head .. πŸ™‚

    I did color my hair Blonde once πŸ™‚ he he he he

Leave a Reply

