The politics of raising my voice on social networks

There seems to be politics when you raise your voice on social networks. A word of warning : Do not ask me to shut the fuck up. It never works

It seems that in today’s India raising your voice in outrage brings about a few reactions that are very interesting.

1. Oh come on, lets talk about cheerful things

2. Stop talking and do something about it.

3. Yeah, this was bad but there are far worse cases

4. So and so social strata has it worse

5. Don’t you have anything better to do?

And yes, I am talking about the recent rape case.

I’d love to talk about cheerful things, but somehow this news item has freaked me out. I do not have a daughter but deeply fear for girls and women on the roads. Yes it has affected me.

What has disgusted me is this insidious competitive spirit that has crept into expressions of outrage. Certain women have taken to social network with enthusiasm in the spirit of “Uski sari meri sari se safed kaise?”

One status was :

oh plz jst stop updating ur status against ds DELHI RAPE KAND.if u really care dn side ur expnsive laptop n cozy blankets….come out n protest.v 9 v cant change it by protestng bt atlst v can slap ds govt in public..

I completely empathize with the sentiment but would like to put certain things on record

a) This is not a competition. People who can not travel (since they have jobs to do, dinner to cook, children’s homework and needs to attend to) are not doing any less. They are raising their voices.

b) As citizens of this country their voices are valuable too. Remember it is one vote per person, so their voices count.

This case came into lime light coz’ the girl is brutalized and is struggling for her life in the national capital. Everyday numerous gang rapes take place in tribal belt, who talks about them? Soni Sori is beaten and then a staff is shoved up her genitals did you even hear about her? There are many Sonis out there. She hails from middle class thus showing middle classes how vulnerable they are as women and families of women. No body cares what happens to tribals and dalits, middle class speaks only when it is about them.

I humbly beg to submit that I care, but since the media did not cover it and since I am an ordinary middle class person who is not a social activist, there was no way I could have known or raised my voice about it.

And does my not raising voice against what happened to Soni Sori make my raising my voice on this case any less effective? Is this a *&^%$* competition?

And dear readers, is my raising my voice in protest not important? How in this crazy skewed climate that I find on social network have I deserved to be termed as

arm chair debaters who want a change without actually doing anything about the change it self.

A girl is struggling for her life and if one feels outraged others try to act superior and shut our voices!

Weird!

33 thoughts on “The politics of raising my voice on social networks

  1. Completely agree with the pov/sentiment expressed. Social network is only worth all the ‘while’ when a collective grief/catharsis…call it what you will… finds a space.

  2. Once again we forget the cause that unites us and let our senseless egos come in between!
    So now just because in our corner of the world we unfortunately haven’t heard of Soni Sori we have no right to protest a brutality that happened in our own backyard !

  3. Ritu,
    I have received such comments on my blog too.
    “What have you done about it except for writing a few lines?”
    My blood boils when I hear such lame questions. People who belittle the power of social media and an outcry on it in this age are truely frogs living in a well.
    And I also do not understand when people start comparing incidents. Just because I did not raise my voice against an incident in 1985 does not mean I am supposed to keep quiet for the rest of my life. What kind of a twisted logic is that?

  4. Every voice of protests, and like you said, every vote counts. I too am not able to understand what these kind of comments are trying to say or do.
    How would an outrage and protests happen if nobody was angered and pained? I hope the victim recovers and the rapists are given the harshest possible sentences.

    • That poor child got brutalized just because she got into the wrong bus. Here we are expressing our outrage and these women have entered into a competition of sorts.

  5. I absolutely, absolutely, absolutely loved your “Uski sari…” analogy.
    I am sure that all the outrage that people expressed on Facebook and Twitter was real…for sure it was justified. But some of the folks who expressed it are also serial gyan-givers on social media on a daily basis – I find it a bit difficult to sort the grain from the chaff when it comes to their expressed anguish.
    I think I am a terrible person. 😦

    • @Rickie I do not want to separate grain from chaff. Every voice counts. We need to build a better world together, all of us doing our little bit. Just dissing one person in order to feel superior will just take away from the larger cause.

      And yes – I love the Ujjala ad, it does illustrate a certain way of thinking we see so often doesnt it?

  6. such a headache to deal with these people, AS WELL as the unbearable brutalities of these cases. Instead of shouting at each other, why don’t we collectively make a stand against the common enemy?!

  7. This very outrage will result in some action if at all….the social media anger spilled on the streets and resulted in huge protests on the roads.And the government understands only one language…that of collective public outrage( read votes).

  8. I know we all are raising our voices…Yet I feel, I am in a helpless position…I always wonder in what way is raising my voice going to help? nonetheless, I still keep talking..I can’t stop 😦 Because, it is paining..

      • Yup. I hate the whole ‘nobody objected to this or that’ argument. WTH. If I had the power, I’d wipe away ALL injustice in this world. But I don’t have the power. Iit is not humanly possible to keep up with everything happening around you. How can anyone question me about something I probably had not heard about? And there are a hundred and one reasons why you might have missed out on something. Besides what touches you into action is pretty personal. A cause dear to me may not be to another person. I understand, accept and respect that and I expect the same from others too. Is that so difficult to understand, I wonder?!

  9. Pingback: The politics of raising my voice on social – Ritu | Web Tech News

  10. Hi Ritu , this post resonated well with me . How can we classify rage as armchair rage and on the streets rage …I don’t understand neither do I attempt to . Like everyone else , my blood boils and I too want to make my voice heard …but I have several commitments which take up most of my time …I have two kids to take care and I have to work to earn money . By the end of the day I hardly have the time or resources to step into streets to shout at the top of my voice …but I know I have the power of words …so I write …

    On another note …there were these fake pictures on FB that claimed to be the picture of the girl before and after the gruesome incident . This picture recorded a phenomenal number of “likes” and “shares”. I wonder if these people even know what they are sharing .

    Expressing rage is all about letting your voice heard …not sharing a picture with an attractive slogan . Today I am glad I heard your voice .

Leave a Reply

