Catching up with an old friend

Chat with old friend who found me using Facebook Friend Finder ….

1016056_10152013855992571_1778699557_n

 

 

Old Friend : OMG, so you are a hot shot author now.

Me : (Trying to be modest and underplayed) Yeah, I have a couple of books published

O F : Well, you always wanted to be a doctor

Me : Yeah, didn’t everyone else?  It was a done thing those days ….

O F : What?

Me : Adults would ask, “Beta badhe hokar kya banogey?” and we would chant, Doctor, IAS, IPS, Engineer. 

O F : You always said Doctor

Me : The idea of cutting people open must have sounded like fun to me

O F : So how come you’re not one?

Me : (Trying to wriggle out of admitting that I dropped out in the second month of med school) You wanted to be in IAS, and now you’re in marketing.

O F : Well, it pays better and does not get me posted out of Calcutta.  You can’t take a Bong out of Calcutta

Me : So how’s Didi?

Nice try … but he did not take the bait.

O F : (Still persisting) Never thought you’d be working in corporates and writing novels.

Me : (Uncomfortably)  Erm I work in one corporate only.

O F : And your marriage broke

Me : (Wishing I could strangle him through the computer screen) Yes

O F : You are Ritu Jain from Imphal and from Hindu College aren’t you?

Me : (Scowling) Was.  Now I am Ritu Lalit

O F : (I could sense the avid need to learn more gossip) You have changed so much!  How could you?  He was your big romance, how come?

Taking deep breaths, reminding myself that I once actually liked this bloke, and preaching myself tolerance…

Me : That was then, this is now.  You’re right.  I changed a lot.

O F : Like how?

Me : I got infected by Black Spider venom.  So I have this uncontrollable urge to kill or destroy old loves and old friends.  It is a problem but I am learning how to control it, and to live with it.  

O F : You’re not serious?

Me : Try me

Facebook, I owe you big time.  Haven’t had so much fun in ages 😛

Livin da vida loca

29 thoughts on “Catching up with an old friend

    • Some people have no concept of boundaries! Sure we were buddies once, but that was ages ago! And people change 😛 He’ll be wiser now

    • Glad this cheered you up. Go and read the customer review of Veet on my FB wall, it will give you more cheer 😉

  1. Pingback: Disclosure to an Old Friend | A Multitude of Musings

  2. Oh that spider bites me every alt day ! few days back some one asked me as I HAVE PLENTY of time y am i not planning a family. I wanted to strangle them too. .There is no scarcity of fools around na ?!
    Be the same spider woman 🙂 !
    love

    • Oh I call them the Rep.Mark.Inc. ! Or the Reproductive Marketing Incorporated. Honestly they are more into other people’s bedrooms and uteruses than into their own lives. I don’t get them, never will!

      Yeah, Be. The. Spider. Woman. !

  3. I remember a few nosy friends who will pester me and my wife about having a child. Finally I started replying that we have decided not to have one. The shocked look on their face was priceless. 🙂

    • And the Rep.Mark.Inc. strikes again! For explanation read the comment above.

      I’m given a hard time on why my son and his wife don’t have a kid. I pass those irritating minutes while being lectured by visualising their heads with a worm body, travelling up a uteri. Makes me happy 😛

Leave a Reply

